New Gallery – Sidewalk Catwalk

One of the reasons I love living so close to New York City is there is always something interesting to see and photograph.

Recently, from June 24th and running through Sptember 3rd, thirty-two designers participated in a public art exhibition entitled ” Sidewalk Catwalk ”

The exhibition ran from Times Square to Herald Square along a pedestrian mall on Broadway.It reminded me of a fashion version of the ” Cow Parade ” of a decade ago all over Manhattan.

The project, organized by the Fashion Center Business Improvement District, required each designer to design a mannequin in their signature style while using material that would hold up to the elements. Not only did they hold up, but as far as I know nothing was stolen either!

Among the designers who participated were Tommy Hilfiger, Kenneth Cole, Isaac Mizrahi, Jason Wu, Michael Kors, and Diane von Furstenberg. The fashion show smack dab in the middle of N.Y.’s garment district was an instant hit especially with the tourists. As I was taking pictures for my website , I was constantly stopping to take picture of tourists with their own cameras so everyone could be in the picture.

I had a ball taking these pictures. I hope you enjoy them.

