Ramblings of a first time Blogger

abstract art photography

Hello All,

My name is Allen Beatty and www.allen-beatty.artistwebsites.com and  www.photographybyallenbeatty.com are my websites.

I have been taking photos now for over 55 years and have always fantasized about having a website to sell my photos. What a wonderful way to earn some money in retirement. Doing something you love and getting some extra spending money for it. At least that’s the idea.

That’s where this blog comes in. I am 71 years old and although I know my way around a computer, things are happening so quickly it’s almost impossible to keep up. The ” experts ” tell me one of the great ways to drive traffic to your website is to have a blog, so here we go !!!

To me a blog is like therapy in a way in that you can just ramble about anything that comes into your mind and you don’t have to pay the therapist. You probably won’t be any better off, but you’ll feel better.

Why is photography important to me? It’s my way of expressing those creative urges in me. I took up photography because I could not paint. So I “paint ” with my camera. What is a good photo? It depends upon who you are I guess. To me the first essential is that it connects with you on some emotional level. In other words, it grabs you in the gut and evokes some sort of an emotional response from you. It could be because of the subject matter, the colors, the composition, the beauty, the ugliness, the message, etc. But it grabs you for some reason.

If you look at the galleries in my website ( please do ) you will notice at least in my eyes I am into bold color and composition. I love beautiful things whether alive or inanimate. That’s a cliche but so be it. If you can’t appreciate the beauty of a sunrise or sunset or a flower or landscape I feel sorry for you, but I don’t think there are too many people like that.

Sometimes a photograph can’t actually capture what the eye can see. I will never forget the first time I saw The Grand Canyon and the Grand Canal in Venice. It was awe inspiring and mesmerizing. My pictures are good but it’s not the same as being there. That’s why travel is so enriching. But if you can’t travel for whatever reason photos can take you there.

Sometimes all you have to do is be in the right place at the right time. Many of the landscape pictures are like that. Just compose well and you’ve got it !!  And sometimes my eye is able to isolate a subject from it’s surroundings and create something maybe you didn’t see.

When I am taking pictures is when I am free and calm. I love it !!!!

I’d like this blog to be a positive give and take. Tell me what you like and what you don’t like( don’t be nasty) Tell me what you would like to see. Tell me if I should eliminate anything. Make comments,suggestions,etc .

I probably won’t blog that often because I am a hunt and peck typist so it takes a long time. But if there are people out there that want to have intelligent conversations come on board.

Thanks for visiting.

Allen Beatty

